Some interesting reads lately

1. A family moved to an Arctic island in Norway for a year leaving behind their stable conventional life without any plans and they came back, happier, making us wonder about the meaning of our lives.

2. A meaning behind Brazil’s national dish – Feijoada: from this TED talk

Black bean: African population
Rice: Europeans
Red chili sauce: indigenous people
Green: great giver of life to Brazil and the world – the Amazonian forests
Manioc (yuka): the big Japanese population in Brazil (over 1 million in Sao Paulo)

Now World Cup 2014 was over but it isn’t too late to want to know about this vibrant country in South America, is it? :)

(About WC 2014: it’s over leaving me unsatisfied with Germany’s victory. I was rooting for Holland, then Argentina (I’ve been in love with them since the Euro 2004) so bad that I wanted to cry when Argentina was defeated by Germany. I know it’s just a game and by looking at Germany’s performance in previous games, one should not be surprised about their championship. But still, I don’t think football fans are the most reasonable fans. We hope and dream for the impossible, don’t we?)

3. About privacy: “…that there is no final, satisfying way to balance our need to be known with our need to be alone. The balance is always uncertain and provisional; it’s always a matter of dissatisfaction, give-and-take, and sacrifice.”

From this article on the New Yorker (the comments are also very interesting)

4. 10 common GMO claims and what scientists say

5. It all began when a couple found a cardboard box with 5 tiny kittens…

(yes yes yes, I have a soft spot for these cuties : )

 

2 thoughts on “ Some interesting reads lately

  1. me too, I was about to cry when my Brazil got defeated by Germany. I couldn’t stay in the house for rest of the match after Germany scored 4 goals >”<. I know Brazil didn't play that good but i hoped that they could win :(

Leave a Reply

