What I ate in Taiwan [2]

I mentioned in my previous post about my food adventure in Taiwan that I preferred the taste of Tainan cuisines. It might be a personal preference because my Taiwanese friend Sharon told me most Taipei people think that Southern food is sweeter than it should be. In fact, many well-known Taiwanese cuisines are originated from Tainan. The second day in Tainan, I wasn’t surprised anymore every time Cloris and Sharon told me, “This restaurant is very old, and very famous”. Many famous restaurants in Tainan are old and have been run for more than 3 generations. I appreciate that Taiwanese people try to preserve not only their family business but also the taste of the food. This is the way how well-known restaurants/eateries keep their loyal fans and attract new fans. That’s why when you’re in Tainan and confused about where to eat, you only need to look for places with a long line of waiting people, and you’ll be safe! ; )

First meal in Tainan – rice porridge with milk fish (this fish is very popular in Tainan), sticky rice with braised chicken – this is very good!

Taiwanese udon

Fried-noodle soup with shrimp tempura – REALLY tasty!

Tomatoes with sweet soy sauce – something you must try in Tainan, it tastes “interesting” haha. Sharon said only old Tainan people like this. We had this in the famous Lily fruit store near Confucious temple. We also had tsua-bing (shave-iced) there but it’s not that good compared to other less popular places throughout the city.

Tofu pudding with red beans –  Anping district

Fish soup – I forget what kind of fish it is, lol x D

 

Rice with braised pork and dried fish

Oyster pancake, my favorite!!! Much better than the one I had in Taipei. The oysters are fresh and the sauce is really special!

Rice cake – Before.

After. It’s gone in 2 minutes, haha : D

Fried-fish soup – again, don’t remember the name of the fish xD

Fried chicken – at the same eatery where we ate the fish soup

Matcha ice-cream puff – at a bakery near Tainan university. Don’t eat this alone! Share with someone, or you’ll regret! : D

Stinky tofu – at a night market (night markets in Tainan are set up differently from those in Taipei. In Taipei, night markets cover one or two streets, but in Tainan they’re big outdoor food courts)

Charcoal grilled octopus – at the same night market

Guancai ban (coffin toast) – a popular snack in Tainan. There’re many different kinds of fillings to choose. We had the most simple one with mushrooms, carrots , and chicken in creamy sauce (similar to Alfredo sauce)

Sweet and sour eel noodle – looks ugly but tastes amazing! : P

Smoked eggs

Smoked mushrooms

Smoked tofu. The last night in Tainan, Sharon’s mom prepared a bento with these smoked eggs, mushrooms, and tofu so that I wouldn’t get hungry while waiting at the airport. I wanted to buy some back home but afraid it’s not allowed to bring these onto the airplane because the smell is quite strong.

I also miss the Oolong tea and the winter melon tea with tapioca in Tainan. They’re very good summer drinks. It’s really hot in Tainan when I was there. I’m glad that I made a good decision bringing winter clothes for Taipei and summer clothes for Tainan. In the end of my trip, Sharon and Cloris asked me which dish was my favorite. I couldn’t tell because I liked almost everything (and my mom always says I’m quite a picky eater :P). I don’t remember how many times I had to say, “so good!”, “so yummy!”, “wow!” after I tried a new dish. Some dishes are very similar to Vietnamese cuisines but some are really unique to my taste. Looking at these photos, I just want to go back to Taiwan to… EAT! ; )

Leave a Reply

